Adobe Illustrator Image Trace

screen-shot-2017-01-04-at-14-38-27

I imported an image into Illustrator, and turned it into a mixture of bitmap and vector.

First I imported the image, then copied and pasted the same image onto the first image.  I then turned the top one into a flat vector image by clicking the Image Trace button. I had a look at changing the threshold, which changes the amount of black and white on the vector image. I added colour by clicking the Preset button and selecting the six colour selection. Then I expanded it so it could be altered by pressing the Expand button. Using the Live Paint Bucket and selecting colours in the fill section I coloured in certain highlighted sections. To delete selected parts of the image to show the original bitmap underneath I selected fill with nothing, by selecting the white box with the red line through it and choosing highlighted selections to delete. The top image is the mixed image and the second image is the coloured vector image.

Leave a comment